Linux Kernel Developers' Netconf 2014

(Kernel Summit Networking Workshop)


 

Netconf is a Linux community conference, by-invitation-only, running for the seventh year. The agenda has a clear focus on kernel level networking. Attendees are the main maintainers and developers of the Linux networking subsystem. Invitation is issued only 10-15 people who have provided significant contributions.

This year, the Netconf joins the Linux Kernel Summit in a workshop format in Chicago, IL.

Due to the distributed nature of the Network subsystem development, contributors to the stack are located in different corners of the globe and coordinate security and bug fixes as well as maintanance and new features via email.

Netconf is intended to be a face to face working meetup to compliment those email exchanges. Problematic unresolved issues are hashed out and bold new ideas are discussed.

LKS NetConf '14 Group Photo


  • Location : Chicago, IL
  • Dates : August 19, 2014
  • Sponsors :

    Linux Kernel Summit


  • Committee:
    Stephen Hemminger (stephen@networkplumber.org)
    David S. Miller (davem@davemloft.net, netdev maintainer)
    Soyoung Park (sypeattle@gmail.com)
  • Attendees (by invitation only)
    David S. Miller davem@davemloft.net
    Eric Dumazet edumazet@google.com
    Eric W. Biederman ebiederm@xmission.com
    Florian Fainelli f.fainelli@gmail.com
    Hannes Frederic Sowa hannes@stressinduktion.org
    Herbert Xu herbert@gondor.apana.org.au
    Jeff Kirsher jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com
    Johannes Berg johannes@sipsolutions.net
    John W. Linville linville@tuxdriver.com
    Pablo Neira Ayuso pablo@netfilter.org
    Stephen Hemminger stephen@networkplumber.org
    Jamal Hadi Salim hadi@mojatatu.com
    Chris Wright chrisw@sous-sol.org
    Scott Feldman sfeldma@cumulusnetworks.com
    John Fastabend john.r.fastabend@intel.com
    Tom Herbert therbert@google.com
  • (Tentative) Topics/Agenda/Schedule :
    Tuesday, August 19, 2014
    Time Topic Presentation
    9:00am Introduction  
    9:15am SCTP, potential increase in alignment with other protocols(TCP) for code sharing, baring barries to this caused by associations et al.  
    9:40am eBPF, where can it be used more, are there security issues?  
    10:00am Netfilter Workshop 2014 Report Pablo Neira Ayuso
    10:30am Morning Break  
    11:00am INET checksum/encapsulation (GRE etc.) offloads, especially wrt. the checksumming work Tom Herbert has been doing lately. Tom Herbert("Encapsulation & Offload Support")
    12:00pm Lunch  
    1:00pm Wireless John Linville, Johannes Berg
    2:00pm Putting bridging in the ethernet chipsets, largely for virtualization purposes, and what are the implications of those design tradeoffs for us? Jamal Hadi Salim ("Network Function Offload")
    3:00pm Afternoon Break  
    3:30pm Encapsulations, and fixed limits, such as the bonding VLAN limit.  
    4:00pm Bonding and its interation with encapsulations and offloading. Also what may the future hold wrt. using 'team' as a replacement for the most common bonding use cases.  
    4:15pm Open Discussions & Closing plus Group Photos  

 

 


 

  • References/Resources